The Five Remembrances of Buddhism

image

These are five insights attributed to the Buddha. He presented them to all people for contemplation that leads to the abandonment of unhealthy attachments and actions and to the cultivation of the conditions necessary for Awakening.

Buddha said he only taught one thing his whole life: the way toward the cessation of suffering. So this teaching in no different.

Contemplation of these five insights are helpful for nearly all people, whether Buddhist, Christian, non-religious, male, female and so on.

Like most core Buddhist teachings, they ring clear as self-evident, yet in their simplicity they strike a strong chord of truth in the heart. May you contemplate them for your own relief of suffering whoever you are.

The Five Remembrances

I am of the nature to grow old;
There is no way to escape growing old.

I am of the nature to have ill health;
There is no way to escape ill health.

I am of the nature to die;
There is no way to escape death.

All that is dear to me and everyone I love
are of the nature to change;
There is no way to escape
being separated from them.

My actions are my only true belongings.
I cannot escape the consequences of my actions.
My actions are the ground upon which I stand.

Anguttara Nikaya 5.57 (Translation by Thich Nhat Hanh)

4 thoughts on “The Five Remembrances of Buddhism

    1. You’re welcome. I searched around and could not find much on the web, so made the graphic. Now it’s spread to Pinterest. 🙂

Leave a comment